Music in the Modern Period

This research group is devoted to a wide range of areas and problems related to music from the 18th century, with a focus on music in Portugal between the Lisbon earthquake of 1755 and World War I, as well as its ramifications mainly in Mediterranean and Atlantic Europe, and in Brazil. It develops research on several aspects of historical musicology, including the organization, inventorying and cataloging of spoils, the making of critical editions, studies on various repertoires and institutions, music criticism, organology, and instrument manufacturers and interpreters, as well as interpretation practices – all properly placed in their historical and sociocultural context. The themes of many of his projects, both collective and individual, naturally fall within the thematic lines of Opera Studies and Luso-Brazilian Studies.

Current Team


Luísa Cymbron (FCSH / NOVA)


Assistant Coordinator

Marco Brescia (Post-Doc Fellow FCT),


PhD researchers

Ana Maria Liberal (ESMAE-IPP), António Salgado (ESMAE-IPP), Alberto Pacheco (UFRJ), Alexandre Andrade (Piaget Institute, Viseu), António Jorge Marques (Post-Doc Fellow FCT), Christine Beirão (Collaborator with no bound), Francesco Esposito (FCT Researcher), Gabriela Cruz (University of Michigan), Isabel Novais Gonçalves (City Hall of Lisbon), Iskrena Yordanova (Portuguese Symphony Orchestra), Joaquim Carmelo Rosa (ESML-IPL, Contributor), David Cranmer (FCSH / NOVA), Luiz Alves da Silva (Ensemble Turicum), Luzia Rocha (Researcher), Marcos Magalhães, Maria José Artiaga (Retired), Paulo Esteireiro (Regional Directorate for Education of Madeira), Pedro Marquês de Sousa (Military Academy), Ricardo Bernardes (Post-Doc Fellow), Rodrigo Teodoro de Sousa (Post-Doc Fellow), Rosana Marreco Brescia (Post-Doc Fellow FCT), Vanda de Sá (EU), Tiago Videira (Research Fellow CESEM).

Researchers in training

(doctoral students, masters and research fellows)

Ângela Portela, Carolino Carreira, Filipe Gaspar, Gil Fesch (Fellow Doctorate FCT); Helena Romão (CESEM Research Fellow), Isabel Albergaria de Sousa, João Paulo Janeiro, Lígia Silva, Lilia Donkova, Luísa Gomes, Luiz Carlos Araújo, Paulo Guerreiro; Pedro Nunes, Rita Ladeiro, Rodrigo Toffolo, Thiago Queiroz; Verónica Pereira